Maryland primaries, who came out on top?

Blog post by Larry Richardson

Larry Richardson is the vice president of government affairs at the Maryland Chamber of Commerce. He is an attorney who brings over 25 years of lobbying experience to the Chamber where he advocates on behalf of the Maryland business community to grow jobs and reduce regulations.


(June 27, 2018—ANNAPOLIS, Md.) The 2018 Maryland State Primary – some surprises, some close calls, and some too close to call.

Marylanders who chose to exercise their right to vote—an estimated 22 percent of those registered—showed up at the polls yesterday for the primary election, casting Democratic or Republican Party votes for the statewide offices of governor, attorney general, comptroller, state Senate (47 seats) and House of Delegates (141 seats).

The contests for attorney general and comptroller did not feature a contested primary, as did some of the state Senate and House of Delegates seats.

A more detailed report will follow shortly, but a review of all the races did note some surprises and several races literally “too close to call.”

Unless indicated otherwise, numbers given below are percentages of the votes cast in that contest:


Ben Jealous pulled away from Rushern Baker, 39.8-29.3, to capture the Democratic Party nomination for governor (all other democratic candidates were in single digits).  Jealous will now meet incumbent Governor Larry Hogan, who did not face a challenger in the Republican primary.


District 10 – Delores Kelly (D) easily defeated her closest challenger, 66.2-11.8

District 11 – Bobby Zirkin (D) easily defeated his challenger, 70.3-29.7

District 18 – Current Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D) defeated his closest challenger (via a three-way race), 49.6-37.0

District 23 – Doug Peters (D) defeated his challenger Tim Adams, 59.3-40.7

District 25 – Former Delegate Melony Griffith (D) captured the open seat from current Delegate Angela Angel, 55.1-36.7

District 28 – Democrat incumbent and Chair of Senate Finance Committee Mac Middleton (D) losing, 52.1-47.9 (651 vote difference)

District 29 –Republican incumbent Steve Waugh defeated by Hogan-backed challenger Jack Bailey, 55.2-44.8

District 40 – Current Delegate Antonio Hayes (D) defeated incumbent Senator Barbara Robinson, 65.5-34.5

District 43 – Current Delegate Mary Washington (D) leads incumbent Chair of Senate EHE Committee Joan Carter Conway, 51.5-48.5 (529-vote difference)

District 45 – Current Delegate Cory McCray (D) easily defeated incumbent Nathaniel McFadden, 58.5-41.5


District 11 – Former Delegate Jon Cardin (D) captured the third seat over newcomer Amy Blank, 23.5-15.0

District 16 – Third Democratic slot between Samir Paul (20.5) and Sara Love (20.2) (a tight 118-vote difference)

District 19 – Incumbent Marice Morales (D) currently fourth in three-seat race, trailing Vaughn Stewart 16.9-15.7 (447-vote difference)

District 21 – Third seat close between newcomers – Mary Lehman (D) leads Matt Dernoga, 18.9-18.3 (173-vote difference)

District 23A – Incumbent Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D) leads challenger Shabnam Ahmed in single-seat race 46.1-45.5 (35-vote differential)

District 23B – Democrat incumbent and Chair of House Judiciary Committee Joe Vallario was defeated, currently third in two-seat district behind incumbent Marvin Holmes, 27.5-21.7 (1.683 votes)

District 30A – Alice Cain (D) leads Aron Axe for second seat in two-seat district behind incumbent and House Speaker Mike Busch, 28.-19.2 (183-vote differential)

District 31B – Former delegate and Anne Arundel County Executive John Leopold (R) failed in a bid to return to the House, placing third in the Republican primary behind top vote-getter and incumbent Nicholaus Kipke and second-place finisher Brian Chisolm, 43.3-38.8-9.7 (Leopold garnered 996 votes total)

District 33 – Challenger and current Anne Arundel County Council member Jerry Walker (R) came in fifth behind the three incumbents and newcomer Stacy McDonald in the Republican primary, 921 votes behind the third-place vote-getter and incumbent Tony McConkey

District 34B – Incumbent Susan McComas (R) currently leads her closest challenger in this single-seat race 31.5-30.5 (35-vote difference)

District 39 – Democrat incumbents Kirill Resnik and Shane Robinson currently sit third and fourth respectively in a three-seat race.  Resnik is in third, 63 votes behind the second-place finisher, while Robinson is 134 votes behind Resnik.

District 41 – Democrat incumbents Bilal Ali and Angela Gibson are in a battle for the third and final seat in the district behind incumbent Sandy Rosenberg and newcomer Dalya Attar.  Both Rosenberg and Attar garnered 17.1 percent, while Ali and Gibson are both at 11.6 – a nine-vote differential between Gibson (4968) and Ali (4959).

District 47A – Incumbent Jimmy Tarlau (D) trails newcomer Julian Ivy for the second slot in a two-seat district, 32.6-29.6 (a 386-vote differential)

District 47B – Incumbent Carlo Sanchez (D) lost to challenger Wanika Fisher in this single-seat district, 59.2-38.6

*Official numbers will be certified by Monday, July 9, 2018.


[adrotate group="1"]
[adrotate group="2"]





Friday Five | February 3, 2023 Friday Five | January 27, 2023 Friday Five | January 20, 2023

Mary D. Kane: With a new dawn comes opportunity — if we work together | Commentary