Senate Small Business Workgroup to Present Legislative Proposals at Meet the State


For immediate release: January 14, 2020

Contact: Erin Montgomery

(410) 269-0642

Senate Small Business Workgroup to Present Legislative Proposals at Meet the State

ANNAPOLIS, MD – The Maryland Senate’s Small Business Workgroup will present its 2020 legislative package at the Maryland Chamber of Commerce’s annual Meet the State event on Wednesday, January 22, from 12:20 to 12:50 p.m. The half-hour presentation was just added to the agenda of the day-long event, which will take place from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Lowe House Office Building, Rooms 170-180, in Annapolis. An evening reception will follow at the Governor Calvert House.

Members of the bipartisan workgroup include Senators Katie Fry Hester, Douglas Peters, Chris West, Mary Beth Carozza, Cheryl Kagan, Brian Feldman and Guy Guzzone, who worked over the summer to research the needs of small businesses and the use of tax credits and incentives, among other issues.

“We are excited to welcome the Small Business Workgroup to Meet the State and to hear about its plans for helping small businesses thrive in Maryland,” said Christine Ross, president and CEO of the Maryland Chamber of Commerce. “Small business is the lifeblood of our economy—and the whole state benefits when our small businesses succeed.”

Meet the State is the premier gathering of General Assembly leadership, representatives from state government agencies, and Maryland’s business community at the beginning of the legislative session, which began on January 8. Meet the State is also a forum for the Chamber to advance its legislative priorities for the 2020 session and inform legislators of how Maryland businesses are impacting our economy and communities.

Attendees will receive a briefing on the Chamber’s legislative priorities and hear directly from (and network with) leaders from the General Assembly, state agencies and top Maryland businesses. Confirmed speakers and panelists include Comptroller Peter Franchot (keynote speaker); Commerce Secretary Kelly Schulz; Labor Secretary Tiffany Robinson; Senate President-designee Bill Ferguson; Senate Minority Leader J.B. Jennings; House Minority Whip Kathy Szeliga; Delegate Kathleen Dumais, vice chair of the House Economic Matters Committee; Senators Jim Rosapepe and Brian Feldman, vice chairs of the Senate Budget & Taxation Committee and the Senate Finance Committee, respectively; Delegate Anne Kaiser, chair of the House Ways & Means Committee; Delegates Luke Clippinger and Vanessa Atterbeary, chair and vice chair of the House Judiciary Committee; Delegates Kumar Barve and Dana Stein, chair and vice chair of the House Environment & Transportation Committee; Senators Paul Pinsky and Cheryl Kagan, chair and vice chair of the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee; and Senator Will Smith Jr., chair of the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.

Sponsors of the event are as follows: AT&T, CareFirst, FirstEnergy, Giant Food, Kaiser Permanente, Maryland Farm Bureau, Maryland Realtors, Maryland Society of Accounting & Tax Professionals (MSATP), MedStar Health, Perdue, Pfizer, Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO) and Tim’s Towing.


If you are a member of the media who would like to cover this event, please contact Erin Montgomery at

If you are interested in attending Meet the State, you can register, purchase tickets and download the agenda here:

If you have any questions about the event, please contact Marie Rau at

To learn more about the Maryland Chamber of Commerce, Maryland’s only statewide business advocacy organization, please visit





Friday Five | January 20, 2023 Chamber Update: January 17, 2023 Friday Five | January 13, 2023

Mary D. Kane: With a new dawn comes opportunity — if we work together | Commentary